In Lieu of a Post on Derrida…

In some comments over at the Valve, I’ve said most of things I was going to post about Derrida’s Of Grammatology. The distinction between writing and “writing” is crucial, and I think one of the main places careless readers of Derrida get lead astray. Anyway, check it out if you’re interested.

The promised follow-up post on 300 probably isn’t going to happen. I’ve got some ideas cooking on the OuLiPo and on community in Bataille/Blanchot/Nancy/Agamben that may see the light of day. But I’ve sworn off promising.

~ by Matt on April 6, 2007.

6 Responses to “In Lieu of a Post on Derrida…”

  1. Always a bad idea to promise posts. Actual work always intrudes. Fortunately, everyone understands and sympathizes.

  2. Nice intervention over there. Best of luck with that.

  3. I have really benefitted from your comments at the Valve on Derrida. Thanks for taking the time to write them.

  4. Thanks for the positive feedback, Matt and Swifty. I’m adding Long Sunday to my blogroll, though not without noting my dismay at the way SEK has been treated there.

    Thanks, by the way, SEK, for the veteran advice. I think it’s a sign of Baudrillard’s continued relevance that it’s work that’s getting in the way of commitments to the blog, rather than the reverse. I think it’s a good sign that I’m still more worried about the blog getting in the way of my exam prep.

  5. surlacarte, I just wanted to say too (again) that I enjoyed your contributions to the debate, and I wanted to thank you for the point about the relations between Chapters 1 and 2 in the Grammatology.

    It seems that the “debate” has pretty much come to a close. I have no idea, however, whether JH is any more enlightened at its end than he was at its commencement.

    Cheers

  6. Rob, enlightening the Holbos of the world falls under the rhetoric of persuasion. My greater hope for our intervention at the Valve is that we’ve succeeded in elucidating Of Grammatology in a way that will provoke a few readers to approach it more carefully and critically.

Leave a Reply

 
